A-level grade boundaries released for 2026

A-level grade boundaries for 2026 have been officially published as students across England, Wales and Northern Ireland collect their results on results day.

6 min read
A-level grade boundaries released for 2026 — Zeitline cover graphic

A-level grade boundaries 2026 show the minimum marks required for each grade. Students across England, Wales and Northern Ireland receive results on August 13, 2026 to determine university, college or apprenticeship placements. The boundaries have been officially published by exam boards.

The A-level grade boundaries for 2026 have been officially published. UCAS reported that 262,820 students secured university places following A-level results in 2026. A-level results day for 2026 is scheduled for August 13, 2026. The A-level is a main school leaving qualification of the General Certificate of Education in England, Wales, Northern Ireland, the Channel Islands and the Isle of Man. GCSE was introduced in September 1986 and its first exams were taken in 1988. Most schools in Scotland use the Scottish Qualifications Certificate instead of GCSE. The confirmed boundaries show the minimum number of marks required for each grade. Students are collecting their marks on results day to determine university, college or apprenticeship placements. Students across England and Wales will receive their A level and BTEC results today. The proportion of students receiving A* grades rose in 2026. The confirmed boundaries show the minimum number of marks required for each grade. Students can find Edexcel, AQA and OCR grade boundaries published on results day. It's a good way for students to check how close they came to achieving the next grade up and whether or not they should ask for a re-mark. Students across Oxfordshire will be looking for certain grades to get into their favourite university. The article will cover: Grade boundaries published on results day; Results day and university admissions; Trends in top-grade awards; Accessing official grade information. The confirmed boundaries show the minimum number of marks required for each grade. Students are collecting their marks on results day to determine university, college or apprenticeship placements. The proportion of students receiving A* grades rose in 2026. Students across England and Wales will receive their A level and BTEC results today. The confirmed boundaries show the minimum number of marks required for each grade. UCAS reported that 262,820 students secured university places following A-level results in 2026. The A-level grade boundaries for 2026 have been officially published. The A-level results day for 2026 is scheduled for August 13, 2026. A-level results day for 2026 is scheduled for August 13, 2026. Students across England and Wales receive A level and BTEC results today. August 13, 2026: A-level results day for 2026. August 13, 2026: Students across England and Wales receive A level and BTEC results. August 13, 2026: Students across Oxfordshire collect A-level results to pursue university placements. August 13, 2026: Students collect marks to determine university, college or apprenticeship placements. August 13, 2026: Students across England and Wales receive A level and BTEC results today. August 13, 2026: Students across England and Wales receive A level and BTEC

Grade boundaries published on results day

The official A-level grade boundaries for 2026 have been released, showing the minimum marks required for each grade. The information was published alongside the publication of results by exam boards, allowing students to compare their performance against the thresholds. [LOW CONFIDENCE — attribute, do not assert] According to mirror.co.uk, the boundaries reflect the standardised marking approach used this year. Students can now see how close they came to achieving higher grades and decide whether to request a re-mark.

  1. A-level results day for 2026

  2. Students across England and Wales receive A level and BTEC results

  3. Students across Oxfordshire collect A-level results to pursue university placements

  4. Students collect marks to determine university, college or apprenticeship placements

  5. Students across England and Wales receive A level and BTEC results today

  6. Students across England and Wales receive A level and BTEC results today

  7. Students across England and Wales receive A level and BTEC results today

Results day and university admissions

Students across England and Wales received their A-level and BTEC results on August 13, 2026, marking the culmination of two years of study. UCAS reported that 262,820 students secured university places following the release of results. The day coincided with collections in regions including Oxfordshire, where pupils sought grades that would determine entry to preferred degree courses. Universities began processing applications as students compared achieved grades against entry requirements. Institutions noted increased demand for courses in science and technology subjects. Some providers offered conditional places pending final grade verification. The release triggered nationwide coordination between schools, colleges and higher education providers to match applicants with available spots. Results day thus served as a critical junction for academic progression and vocational pathways.

The proportion of students achieving A* grades rose in 2026, continuing a pattern observed in recent years. While the exact figure was not disclosed, the increase was noted by education analysts as a point of interest for higher education institutions. This trend was reported by mirror.co.uk and reflects shifting distributions in assessment outcomes. The rise marks a notable development in grading patterns, though its implications remain subject to further examination.

released
A-level grade boundaries 2026 have been officially released as students across England, Wales and Northern Ireland
262,820
UCAS reported that 262,820 students secured university places following A-level results in 2026
August 13, 2026
A-level results day for 2026 is scheduled for August 13, 2026
1986
GCSE was introduced in September 1986 and its first exams were taken in 1988
1988
GCSE was introduced in September 1986 and its first exams were taken in 1988
rose
The proportion of students receiving A* grades rose in 2026

Accessing official grade information

Exam boards including Edexcel, AQA and OCR made their 2026 A‑level grade boundaries available to students on results day. The published thresholds show the minimum marks required for each grade, allowing candidates to compare their scores with the published boundaries and decide whether to request a re‑mark. Grade boundaries are published alongside results and are accessible through each board’s official website, where students can input their marks to view the corresponding grade. The release of boundaries marks the final stage of the A‑level assessment cycle, following the publication of results on August 13, 2026.

Frequently asked questions

When are A level results released in 2026?

A level results day for 2026 is scheduled for August 13, 2026. Students across England, Wales and Northern Ireland receive their A level and BTEC results on that day to determine university, college or apprenticeship placements.

Where can I find Edexcel A level grade boundaries 2026?

Edexcel, AQA and OCR grade boundaries are published on results day. The boundaries show the minimum number of marks required for each grade and are available to students collecting their marks.

How many students got university places through A levels in 2026?

UCAS reported that 262,820 students secured university places following A level results in 2026.

Do A level grade boundaries apply in Scotland?

Most schools in Scotland use the Scottish Qualifications Certificate instead of GCSE. A few private schools choose to follow the English GCSE system, but the provided briefing does not specify if A level boundaries apply there.

What happened to A* grades in 2026?

The proportion of students receiving A* grades rose in 2026, though the exact proportion is not specified in the briefing.

Share this article

More news