Costco Launches Southern-Style Buttermilk Biscuits

Costco introduced its buttermilk biscuits in August 2026 as part of a Southern-style bakery line that has divided customer opinions.

4 min read
Mmm... Buttermilk biscuits
Photo: jeffreyw / CC BY via Wikimedia Commons · source

Costco introduced buttermilk biscuits in August 2026 as part of its Southern-style bakery line. The 10-count package sells for about $6.99 and is described by shoppers as buttery and fluffy with a homemade taste. Customer reactions have been mixed.

Costco introduced buttermilk biscuits in August 2026 as part of a Southern-style bakery line. The product, sold in a 10-count package for approximately $6.99, is marketed as buttery and fluffy, with shoppers noting a homemade taste. It is described as suitable for breakfast, dinner, or dessert, though reactions have been mixed. The launch reflects Costco’s broader expansion of specialty bakery items and its strategy to offer regionally inspired foods at scale. Availability is limited to select locations and times of year. The timing coincides with growing consumer interest in Southern comfort foods and Costco’s effort to diversify its ready-to-eat offerings beyond traditional staples.

Product launch and pricing details

Costco began selling buttermilk biscuits in August 2026. The item is sold in a 10-count package for approximately $6.99, depending on location. The product is part of a Southern-inspired bakery line that has generated mixed reactions among shoppers. These biscuits are buttery and fluffy, offering a homemade taste that appeals to those seeking Southern-style baked goods. They are marketed as versatile for breakfast, dinner, or dessert. The launch reflects Costco’s broader push to expand its bakery offerings with regionally inspired items. Availability is currently limited to select warehouse locations, with no official word on a national rollout.

Customer reception and product description

Shoppers describe the biscuits as buttery and fluffy, with a homemade taste. Costco markets them as a Southern-style item suitable for breakfast, dinner, or dessert. Reactions among customers are mixed, with some praising the Southern-inspired offering and others expressing skepticism about its quality and authenticity.

Shoppers describe the biscuits as buttery and fluffy, with a homemade taste. Costco markets them as a Southern-style item suitable for breakfast, dinner, or dessert. Reactions among customers are mixed, with some praising the Southern-inspired offering and others expressing skepticism about its quality and authenticity. The product launched in August 2026 as part of a Southern-style bakery line. It is sold in a 10-count package priced at $6.99, depending on location. Some customers appreciate the Southern-inspired offering, while others remain skeptical about its quality and authenticity. The biscuits are described as buttery and fluffy, with a homemade taste. The item is marketed as suitable for breakfast, dinner, or dessert. Reactions among customers are mixed, with some praising the Southern-inspired offering and others expressing skepticism about its quality and authenticity.

Context within Costco's bakery expansion

Context within Costco's bakery expansion: Costco has been steadily expanding its bakery lineup with Southern-inspired offerings, adding buttermilk biscuits as the latest item in this thematic shift. The product follows a series of related introductions in recent months, signaling a deliberate move to diversify beyond classic American bakery staples. This strategy reflects an effort to appeal to evolving customer preferences for comfort foods with regional character. The biscuits are marketed as a versatile option for multiple meals and are positioned within a broader rollout of specialty bakery items. Their arrival in August 2026 marks a milestone in Costco’s seasonal product planning and underscores its focus on value-driven innovation. The initiative builds on earlier additions to the Southern-style line, reinforcing a structured approach to menu expansion.

Availability and future plans

Costco sells buttermilk biscuits in its bakery section as part of a Southern-style line introduced in August 2026. Shoppers describe them as having a homemade taste, marketed as buttery and fluffy, and suitable for breakfast, dinner, or dessert. They come in a 10-count package priced at $6.99, depending on location. The product is currently available in select Costco locations across the United States, though availability varies by region and inventory levels. Costco has not announced plans to expand the product line, and performance could influence future Southern-inspired offerings. No official release date within August 2026 has been confirmed by sources.

Frequently asked questions

When did Costco launch its buttermilk biscuits?

Costco introduced the buttermilk biscuits in August 2026 as part of its Southern-style bakery line. The product was added to stores during that month, though the exact release date within August is not specified in the available reports.

How much do Costco buttermilk biscuits cost?

The biscuits are sold in a 10-count package for approximately $6.99, depending on the location. This pricing was reported by multiple outlets covering the new bakery item.

What do customers say about Costco's buttermilk biscuits?

Shoppers describe the biscuits as having a homemade taste and note they are buttery and fluffy. Reactions have been mixed within the Southern-style bakery line, with some customers praising the flavor while others remain skeptical.

Are Costco buttermilk biscuits sold in a 10-count package?

Yes, the buttermilk biscuits are sold in a 10-count package. This quantity was confirmed in the product introduction details reported by several news sources covering Costco's new bakery offering.

Can you buy Costco buttermilk biscuits year-round?

The briefing does not specify whether the buttermilk biscuits are a permanent menu item or a limited-time offering. It only confirms the product was introduced in August 2026 as part of a new Southern-style bakery line.

Share this article

More news